Home > Choices, Relationships, Teaching > I guess it okay, I guess

I guess it okay, I guess

Today was our last day of school before Spring Break.  My most active boy was very, very active today.  Literally bounced off the walls (and doors), and told me several times that I “so mean a teacher.”  About 5 minutes before dismissal all that activity. Stopped.

Completely subdued, he came over to me, worrying his bottom lip. “What’s the matter?” I asked him.

“I-I-I no want to go Spring Break.  I don’t know what do.”

“Who’s going to be with you when you’re at home?”

“I don’t know…I guess a babysitter?”

From what I know of his family, that truly is a guess.  He and his sister might have a babysitter, or they might be dropped off at different neighbors or family members each day, or honestly, they might even be on their own for stretches of time.

“Do you want to bring some books home?  Some math games?”  [Head shake no]

“How about one of our jump ropes?”

[Slow nod] “I guess yes.”

He and I spent the last few minutes of the day walking around the classroom, opening cupboards, drawers, and cabinets, collecting anything of interest and stuffing it into his backpack.  When his bus was called he said, “I guess it okay, I guess,” then zipped up his bag, said “I going to miss you,” and ran off.

  1. March 30, 2012 at 6:31 pm

    It’s amazing the lives our students have and how were the only sense of normalcy they have. I hope he does alright!

    • Hilary
      March 30, 2012 at 6:39 pm

      I’ve come to realize that being there, every day, and doing the same things, every day, are the most important things I can do for the kids in my class. Many of them just don’t have that predictability anywhere else in their lives.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

