Growing roots

I’ve spent most of my time since college enjoying where I am while looking constantly for the next place I’ll go.  I felt that way last year, through my first year of teaching, but this year, for the first time in my life, I’m not looking to go anywhere else.  It’s not that other places have become less interesting to me, but that this current place has quite a hold on me.  For the first time in my adult life, I have real roots in the place I’m living.  I live three minutes from two of my siblings and 20 minutes from my parents and I love the ease of seeing them.  At school I have not just first graders this year, but a whole cohort of second graders I know and love.  When I arrive for trapeze class I get smiles, hugs, and hellos from instructors and other students.   I love living above a Metro stop and minutes from one of the world’s major cities.  I’m starting to get to know my way around and it feels good.  The wanderlust hasn’t left me, but right now it’s not the most important feeling.  I’ll move again, I’m sure, but for now I’m happy to be right here.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

