Home > Teaching > They don’t tell you about this in grad school

They don’t tell you about this in grad school

After 8 straight days of having to call the office to request a custodian with a plunger, plus several discussions about our class’s over-use of toilet paper, today I had to set aside my science lesson on plants and talk about…poop.  Our class had a somber conversation about new rules for flushing to make sure that our toilet doesn’t break, then I used the instructional strategy of having students list details across their fingers to have them repeat and remember the new rules.  They may not have taught us how to handle broken toilets in grad school, but it’s good to know the pedagogical strategies I learned work across topics!

  1. May 17, 2011 at 9:41 pm

    Great story!

    I stumbled across your blog while tag surfing on WordPress. Your first graders sound adorably exasperating. I hope the last few weeks of school go well, with no more bathroom clogs.

    • Hilary
      May 17, 2011 at 10:53 pm

      Thanks for visiting! “Adorably exasperating” is a great way to describe my class. I’m looking forward to summer vacation but I know I’ll miss them!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

