Home > Teaching > Writing conference

Writing conference

I read the long, detailed, imaginative draft of a student’s fairy tale yesterday, and while I enjoyed the story (and his obvious pride in it), I shook my head at his spelling. “Samuel,” I said, “do you remember when you and I did the spelling words at my desk?” (He nodded yes.) “Well, that showed me that you’re one of the very best spellers in our classroom. Do you think you used your best spelling in this story?” Samuel gave a knowing grin, shook his head, and agreed – without arguing! – to go back through and check his words so that it would be easier for readers to read his story. ¬†Sometimes I forget how much further they can go with a little push.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

