Home > Goals, Reflection, Relationships, Teaching > An outside perspective

An outside perspective

I feel like my kids are the hardest group of children I’ve ever taught, but it’s hard to tell when I’m the only one who sees them.  My sister was home from college for a long weekend, though, and came in Tuesday to visit my class.  She’s worked in daycare longer than I did and has been in a number of elementary school classrooms through her college’s elementary education program, so she has a good baseline for comparison.  Her summary? “I liked your class a lot, although I felt quite bad for you. They are nuts.”

I told her that I feel like I must be doing something wrong because it seems like I spend most of the day almost yelling or speaking harshly and I don’t like it. She said, “I honestly don’t know what to do instead though. They don’t listen. To me they seem like 3 to 4 year olds learning to speak in complete sentences.”

It makes me feel a little less crazy to have someone I know well and respect say that my class isn’t a regular first grade class.  They’re not going to act like other six-year-olds I know, at least not yet, but that’s not my fault, it’s my challenge.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

