Home > Reflection, Teaching > Long weekend

Long weekend

We had a three day weekend because of Columbus Day.  I’m not sure I agree with the principle, but I definitely appreciate the time off.  I feel like three days away from school (and not doing ANY work during those days) has let me puzzle over some of my classroom issues in the back of my mind.  For instance, driving home from a shopping trip with my sister today I came up with a new way to do record-keeping during my math lessons.  And while eating dinner and watching TV, I realized I need to reach out to the other first-year teachers I know and try to form a community of peers (instead of the rather intimidating community of highly-experienced teachers I currently have).

Time off is good.  It reminds me that I have a lot going on in my life besides teaching, even if teaching sometimes feels like it’s taking over my life.  I feel more confident about the week, better rested, and better able to solve whatever problems come up.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

