Home > Choices, Reflection > Ways of being social

Ways of being social

I have little drive day-to-day to leave my apartment and hang out with other people.  I enjoy my own company, rarely feel lonely, and often feel stressed by arranging and following through on social engagements.  I almost always have a great time once I’m out though.  On Saturday, for instance, what started out as an regional alumni club happy hour from 5-7 p.m. ended up with me going out to a new part of the city with a bunch of younger alums, most of whom I’d just met.  I had a great time and really enjoyed their company.  I didn’t think too much of it though until I was telling my brother the story and he said how impressed he was with me for being so open to new situations.  I’d never thought of it as being something that was different about me, but I guess not everyone would have gone along on Saturday.  So this weekend I learned two things – I still love people from my college and I’m not quite as socially helpless as I often think.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

