Home > Career, Choices, Goals > Time keeps on running, running

Time keeps on running, running

I spent the last two years working on my Masters degree and building my freelancing business.  As a result, I am currently paid to be a researcher, writer, admissions counselor, social media consultant…and full-time first grade teacher.

While I was in school I had more time than money, so I accepted every freelance job I was offered.  Thanks to a demanding teaching placement and a lot of student loans, I now have neither time nor money –  but I have more freelance work than ever.  This week I’ve been spending ten hour days at school then coming home and doing 2-3 hours of freelance work before crawling into bed.  It’s not a schedule I can keep up for very long, but I’ve run my monthly budget numbers about a million times and I’m afraid I can’t afford not to keep it up.  I’ve managed to do well in both my full-time and freelance jobs so far (though it’s only day 4), but as I need to do more planning in my classroom, college application deadlines approach, and I decide I need to make friends, I’m going to face some big choices about my budget, my priorities, and my goals for my freelancing business.

Add to DeliciousAdd to DiggAdd to FaceBookAdd to Google BookmarkAdd to RedditAdd to StumbleUponAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Twitter

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

