Home > Career, Relationships > Hooray for mentors

Hooray for mentors

As a first year teacher, state law requires that I have a mentor.  Happily, mine appears to be awesome.  Of the people on my team, her philosophy on classroom setup and management is closest to my own, and she’s done a great job this week of being there whenever I need her and disappearing when I don’t.  She seemed to realize quickly that I need solo processing time, so she usually presents me with options and then leaves me to think things through.  She’s also been a very gentle but effective advocate for me, quietly intervening in conversations with well-meaning colleagues who risk overwhelming me with advice.  She just slides a sentence into the conversation that explains how I’m approaching the topic (e.g., size of whole group area, number of tables) or say that I have a lot to take in now and can think about it later.  She’s also been amazing about gathering and prepping the supplies I need – book boxes, word study journals, homework folders magically appear in my room – though today they briefly disappeared while she laminated them for me.  From what I’ve seen so far, I have high hopes for our year together.

Add to DeliciousAdd to DiggAdd to FaceBookAdd to Google BookmarkAdd to RedditAdd to StumbleUponAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Twitter

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

