Home > Cambridge, Location > Nighttime

Nighttime

I love walking at night. There’s peace and beauty as the familiar daytime scenery is softened by darkness. Walking at night, I feel cocooned, yet part of the infinite space of the night sky. Eight years on, my strongest memories from college are of walking across the campus at night. Whenever I look up at Orion’s belt, I feel transported back to Magill walk, staring up at the night sky, testing my newfound Astronomy 1 knowledge. In college there was always a reason to walk at night – to visit a friend in another dorm, to get a book from the library, to go see the a capella concert – and it was always safe.

I rarely walk outside at night now though. There aren’t many places I need to go at the end of the day, and if I do need to go somewhere, I usually drive. I walked more in Philadelphia, when I didn’t have a car, but nighttime walking there lacked the peace and security of campus; instead of relaxing into the night, I walked efficiently, alert for risks.

One of the things I loved about being in Cambridge last fall was that I got to be a part of the night again. I walked into town, around town, home from town, in the evenings, usually with friends, but sometimes on my own. I felt safe, as though the city was one large campus, and loved reclaiming that experience.

Add to DeliciousAdd to DiggAdd to FaceBookAdd to Google BookmarkAdd to RedditAdd to StumbleUponAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Twitter

Categories: Cambridge, Location Tags: , , ,
  1. AK
    August 27, 2010 at 7:04 pm

    I am so pleased that you’re writing again

    : )

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

