Home > Career > Living under observation

Living under observation

The principal walked into my classroom unannounced today and settled down at the back table. Luckily I’m still in student teacher mode and am used to everything I do being observed. Also luckily, the kids were excited about the lesson she walked in on – I had them prepping readers theatre performances, including making props and costumes.  The kids weren’t perfect, but they were very creative and generally on task, and the principal seemed to like what she saw.  Since I’m still technically a job applicant at the school, it’s a relief to have an observation go well.  I suspect that I’ll have a lot more drop-in visits throughout my teaching career.  Given that, it seems like a good idea to stay in student teacher mode even once I’m full-time – always expect to be observed, always be ready for someone to walk in.  Or as mom always told me when I worked in daycare, always act as though someone is watching.

Add to DeliciousAdd to DiggAdd to FaceBookAdd to Google BookmarkAdd to RedditAdd to StumbleUponAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Twitter

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

