Home > Career, Relationships > Safety nets

Safety nets

Every now and then I wonder what life would be like without the incredibly large, strong safety net I have under me. What if I didn’t have parents happy to help with anything I need or want, or an extended family I knew I could count on in any emergency? What if, as so many people are, it was just me on my own in the world? All I really know is that life would feel way scarier.

I’m thinking about safety nets because my graduation and job search are making me realize how much I take mine for granted.  For instance, my lease is up in a week and a half and I’ve made no plans for where to live after that…but I’m not particularly worried about it.  I’ll find a friend, find a sublet, or stay with mom and dad for a few days while I keep looking.  I hope and expect to find a teaching job this fall, but I won’t be panicked if I don’t get something for the start of school.  I know I won’t be homeless – I should be able to increase my freelance work enough to pay my rent, but if I can’t, I trust that my safety net will be there for me until I get things settled.

And speaking of finding a job, if I do get one it may be my mother who deserves much of the credit.  We’ve spent the last four school days driving all over our county so I could hand-deliver resumes to area principals.  Mom spent 5-6 hours behind the wheel each day, plugging the next address into the GPS while I was inside each school.  Even though I woke up each morning thinking “oh god, I don’t want to do this again,” mom approached each day of driving with a cheerful sense of purpose.  I feel confident that something good will come out of the contacts I made this week, and there is no way in the world I could have done it alone.  Life is so much easier when there are people who support us.

Add to DeliciousAdd to DiggAdd to FaceBookAdd to Google BookmarkAdd to RedditAdd to StumbleUponAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Twitter

  1. May 19, 2010 at 12:40 pm

    Best of luck in your search. Glad you appreciate all your supporters do for you. I’m sure you reciprocate. I wrote a blog the other day about the year’s most creative way to get an interview. You might consider some of the ideas for your targeted schools. TheInterviewPro.wordpress.com

    David.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

