Home > Career, Choices, Location > Resume drop

Resume drop

I left my resume and cover letter with a lot of principals today. In many ways it feels empowering – I’m doing something to directly support my job search. In other ways, it is terrifying. At each school I briefly wonder, is this the place I want to call home? Is this the administrative assistant I’ll befriend? Will some of the students in the hallway be mine next year? These thoughts sometimes feel overwhelming, but I try to remember that almost all abstract possibilities are overwhelming. I think back to the weekend before I started student teaching – before I’d been inside the school, before I’d met any of my students. We stood outside the school grounds, just looking, and I thought how old the building looked and wondered what my kids would be like and whether I’d like anyone and if I’d ever feel connected to this place I was a stranger to.

And a few months later I stood in the hallway of the school saying goodbye to teachers, students, and parents. Every window I’d once looked at from the outside was now connected to a room, and every room connected to the people who fill it. I wasn’t a stranger – I could barely remember a time before I knew these students and teachers. I try to hold on to these memories when I start getting overwhelmed with the job search. I may not know much about any of these schools right now, but I’ll learn what I need to about one of them this fall. Wherever I land, I’ll make connections. Wherever I land, I won’t be a stranger for long. It may feel overwhelming now, but the reality won’t be nearly as scary as the questions.

Add to DeliciousAdd to DiggAdd to FaceBookAdd to Google BookmarkAdd to RedditAdd to StumbleUponAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Twitter

Categories: Career, Choices, Location Tags: , ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

