Home > Cambridge > Coming to school: three perspectives

Coming to school: three perspectives

Abraham says:
“I like coming to school because sometimes there’s fun bits but sometimes it’s just so boring to just sit and be quiet.  I have lots of ideas in my head and I like telling them to my friends because they’re so cool but I always just get yelled at for chatting.  I try to do my work at my table but it can be really hard because sometimes I just want to chat and sometimes I don’t really want to do it so I try to just finish real quick like and sometimes it’s just like there are monkeys in my brain.  I wish we could chat more in school so that I don’t have to be so bored and I don’t get yelled at and school’s more fun.  I like the times that we get to move around and chat – like when we did the jumping thing, that was the best bit.”

Tiffany says:
“I like all the things we do in school, but sometimes I get so sad about my dad, yeah, or my mom makes me walk and I’m late and I get yelled at, or Jenny makes a mean face at me and I just get in such a bad mood and I can’t do anything right, and I don’t want to be nice to anybody.  When we do reading or writing or math I get sad and a little mad and scared because I’m trying real hard, yeah, but I just can’t get it right.  I like it when I get to talk just to the teacher and she listens to me, or when I pretend to be the teacher and I get to tell other people what to do.  I have fun when we get to talk and I have lots of ideas, but when they tell me to write them down I just feel stupid and mad like.”

Emily says:
“I almost always know the answer when the teacher asks a question but she never calls on me first unless we’re really busy – she always asks someone else first, even when I was the first one to raise my hand.  I’m much better at reading and writing than the other kids in the class – I can read almost anything, just like my big sister can, and I write stories all the time – really long ones, in really good handwriting.  When we have math class I almost always know the answer, even when other kids mess up.  I like working with the other kids sometimes because it’s fun to talk to people, but it’s so hard sometimes when I know what to do and they don’t.  I keep telling them over and over what to do but they just say no or they grab the clay and they don’t listen.  I told the teacher that it’s hard to work in groups but she keeps making us do it.  Sometimes she comes over though when we’re in groups and tells me what a great job I’m doing, and she lets me stay in the classroom sometimes to just chat with her.”

  1. Lauren
    February 23, 2010 at 1:26 pm

    Wow, these kids are positively brilliant…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

